Registration for the fall 2017 session of the Presribed Burning Short Course is CLOSED. Spring dates will be announced soon.

 

Space for the workshop is limited, and registration is REQUIRED. Upon completion of the Prescribed Burning Short Course you will earn 16 hours of CFE credit and will qualify to take the Mississippi Certified Prescribed Burn Manager exam on the last day of the course.

 

The fall 2017 session of the Mississippi Forestry Commission’s Prescribed Burning Short Course will be held September 26-28, 2017 at the Hilton Garden Inn Starkville. The Prescribed Burning Short Course is open to the public and designed for anyone wishing to become a Certified Prescribed Burn Manager in Mississippi. Upon completion of the Prescribed Burning Short Course, you will earn 16 hours of CFE credit and will qualify to take the Mississippi Certified Prescribed Burn Manager exam. In the hands of a Certified Burn Manager, prescribed burning is a safe way to apply a natural process to maintain forest land. It is one of the most efficient and cost-effective tools available to foresters in the Southeast for understory management, fuel reduction, site preparation, wildfire risk reduction, and wildlife habitat improvement.
 

Date:
September 26-28, 2017

Time:
9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
(last day 9:00 a.m. - Noon)

Location:
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
975 Highway 12 East
Starkville, MS 39759
 

During the workshop participants will be introduced to several aspects of Prescribed Burning.  Participants do not conduct a Prescribed Burn during the workshop. The group will visit two sites at the end of the workshop and asked to write a Prescribed Burning Plan based on the information that they have learned during the course. It is important that attendees bring proper footwear for walking in a wooded area. 
 

At the end of the Prescribed Burning Short Course participants will be qualified to take the Certified Prescribed Burn Manager Exam (offered on the last day of the course). To become a Certified Prescribed Burn Manager through the Prescribed Burning Short Course participants must meet the following requirements:

1. Write a Prescribed Burning Plan and present information on Smoke Screening.
2. Pass the final exam with a score of 80 or higher on the last day of the course.
 

Once these requirements have been met, you will be issued a certificate of completion for the Prescribed Burning Short Course. 

Participants will understand the following points after the completion of this course:
•    The state laws regarding your liability in applying a prescribed fire
•    The benefits, limitations and risk of applying prescribed fire
•    Forest fuels and fuel classification
•    How weather and fuel moisture affect fire behavior
•    A variety of ignition techniques
•    Method for managing smoke
•    How to properly plan and execute a prescribed burn
 

Cost:
$250.00 per participant

 

For more information, please contact:

Allen Stroud
MFC Training Officer
(769) 798-2597
astroud@mfc.state.ms.us